The 17th International Fryderyk Chopin Piano Competition Logo

The 17th International Fryderyk Chopin Piano Competition


Oct. 7, 2015

We know the names of the participants admitted to the Second Round

#Qualifications #The Candidates

On 7 October, the first-round auditions of the 17th Fryderyk Chopin International Piano Competition were completed. Over the course of 5 days, 78 pianists from 20 countries performed.

According to the Competition rules and regulations, the jury – led by Prof. Katarzyna Popowa-Zydroń – admitted 43 participants to the 2nd round from 16 countries, including: 8 from Poland, 5 from China, 5 from Japan, 5 from South Korea, 4 from United States, 3 from Russia, 3 from Canada, 2 from Italy,  1 from: Hungary, France, Croatia, Ukraine, Czech Republic, Greece, Latvia and United Kingdom.


List of the participants of the second round:


  • Ms Soo Jung Ann (South Korea)
  • Ms Miyako Arishima (Japan)
  • Mr Łukasz Piotr Byrdy (Poland)
  • Ms Michelle Candotti (Italy)
  • Mr Luigi Carroccia (Italy)
  • Ms Galina Chistiakova (Russia)
  • Mr Seong-Jin Cho (South Korea)
  • Ms Ivett Gyӧngyӧsi (Hungary)
  • Mr Chi Ho Han (South Korea)
  • Mr Olof Hansen (France)
  • Mr Zhi Chao Julian Jia (China)
  • Mr Aljoša Jurinić (Croatia)
  • Ms Su Yeon Kim (South Korea)
  • Ms Dinara Klinton (Ukraine)
  • Ms Aimi Kobayashi (Japan)
  • Mr Qi Kong (China)
  • Mr Marek Kozák (Czech Republic)
  • Mr Łukasz Krupiński (Poland)
  • Mr Krzysztof Książek (Poland)
  • Ms Rachel Naomi Kudo (United States)
  • Ms Kate Liu (United States)
  • Mr Eric Lu (United States)
  • Mr Łukasz Mikołajczyk (Poland)
  • Ms Alexia Mouza (Greece)
  • Ms Mayaka Nakagawa (Japan)
  • Mr Szymon Nehring (Poland)
  • Mr Piotr Nowak (Poland)
  • Ms Arisa Onoda (Japan)
  • Mr Georgijs Osokins (Latvia)
  • Mr Jinhyung Park (South Korea)
  • Mr Charles Richard-Hamelin (Canada)
  • Mr Dmitry Shishkin (Russia)
  • Ms Rina Sudo (Japan)
  • Mr Michał Szymanowski (Poland)
  • Mr Arseny Tarasevich-Nikolaev (Russia)
  • Mr Alexei Tartakovsky (United States)
  • Mr Alexander Ullman (United Kingdom)
  • Mr Chao Wang (China)
  • Mr Andrzej Wierciński (Poland)
  • Mr Zi Xu (China)
  • Mr Yike (Tony) Yang (Canada)
  • Mr Cheng Zhang (China)
  • Ms Annie Zhou (Canada)


The auditions for the second round will begin on 9 October at 10:00 AM and last until 12 October. The first pianist to appear will be Łukasz Piotr Byrdy from Poland.

The program for the 2nd round includes:

One piece from among the following:


  • Ballade in G minor Op. 23
  • Ballade in F major Op. 38
  • Ballade in A-flat major Op. 47
  • Ballade in F minor Op. 52
  • Barcarolle in F-sharp major Op. 60
  • Fantasy in F minor Op. 49
  • Scherzo in B minor Op. 20
  • Scherzo in B-flat minor Op. 31
  • Scherzo in C-sharp minor Op. 39
  • Scherzo in E major Op. 54
  • Polonaise-Fantasy in A-flat major Op. 61

One waltz from among the following:


  • Waltz in E-flat major Op. 18
  • Waltz in A-flat major Op. 34 No. 1
  • Waltz in F major Op. 34 No. 3
  • Waltz in A-flat major Op. 42
  • Waltz in A-flat major Op. 64 No. 3

One polonaise from among the following:


  • Andante spianato and Polonaise in E-flat major Op. 22
  • Polonaise in F-sharp minor Op. 44
  • Polonaise in A-flat major Op. 53
  • Or both Polonaises from Op. 26


A work or works of choice by Fryderyk Chopin (only if the remaining portion of the performance does not fulfill the minimum time requirement designated below).

Duration of performance in 2nd round: 30–40 minutes.


The organizer of the Competition is The Fryderyk Chopin Institute. The project is included in the Accessible Culture Program of the Minister of Culture and National Heritage.
The Competition Patron is Bank Zachodni WBK. The Principal Partner is Totalizator Sportowy. The Competition Co-organizer is Channel 2 of Polish Radio. The Competition Partners are: Google, Hotel Regent Warsaw, Lexus, Filharmonia Narodowa, Technics, Steinway Lyngdorf, Polska Wytwórnia Papierów Wartościowych, Huawei, Chopin Airport Developement, Allianz, Atman and TVP; and the Official Airport, the Fryderyk Chopin Airport.
The Competition Media Partners are: Polish Radio, Gazeta Wyborcza,, AMS and Metro.

Cooperation: Royal Łazienki Museum, Phonak, Infor IT, Accor Hotels. The Fryderyk Chopin Institute’s Partner is Yamaha.
Pianos are being provided by: Steinway, Yamaha, Kawai, Fazioli.
The Competition is under the Honorary Patronage of the President of the Republic of Poland, Andrzej Duda.




© Fryderyk Chopin Institute 2015


Subscribe to our newsletter and receive's hottest news from the world of classical music!